Advancing Neonatal Care Standards and Practice

Practice and Standards Committee

Chair: Christine Johnson (2022-current)

The Practice and Standards Committee reviews issues related to the practice of neonatology or standards of neonatal care and makes recommendations to the CAN Board regarding an official stance on these issues. Such issues might also include public policy with implications for neonatology. 

The committee supports relationships with partner organizations such as the Children’s Speciality Care Coalition (CSCC).

Committee Members


  • Christine Johnson (2022-current)

Committee Members:

  • Katherine (Kat) Coughlin
  • Kalpashri (Shri) Kesavan
  • Steve Gwiazdowski
  • Tabitha Solomon
  • Jeanne Carroll
  • Kushal Bhakta
  • Sevini (Sina) Hallaian
  • James McGuire

Current Projects

  • NOWS, ESC, & Substance-exposed infants
    • Tabitha, Shri, & Kushal
  • Discharge planning
    • Steve & Jeanne
  • PDA Vignettes
    • Kat & Kurlen
  • Thermoregulation Toolkit
    • Christine & Liz Drake (CNS from Orange County)
  • Congenital Hypothyroidism Screening Standardization
    • James

Join our mission to shape the future of neonatal healthcare

Your insights can help guide vital decisions and policies, ensuring high standards and exceptional care for newborns. Be a voice in the evolution of neonatology with the Practice and Standards Committee.